Fast Updating – the Studio Organizer 7

Refresh

Here's a fast way to update your Studio Organizer 7 files.

Perform these instructions only on the Primary computer that was used to create your Registration Code.

If you've used the Transferring Data Wizard to move your data to a different computer, transfer your data back to your Primary computer before completing these steps. 


Network Users

Updates must be installed on the server only. Nothing needs to installed on your guest computers after updating, but please be SURE to test the update on ALL guest computers on your network immediately after updating.

If networking is not working: open the software on the server with your Master password (other passwords cannot be used) then go to File the menu, select Sharing -> Share with FileMaker Clients... and verify networking is turned on and all files are available to all users. Turn file sharing off then on again and restart your computer.

Port 5003
Port 5003 is used by FileMaker Pro to send network traffic. Please be sure this port is open in router and computer firewall's.

 

Do not follow these instructions if you are currently using Version 5 or 6 and wish to convert your data to Version 7.

Click here for Upgrading from Version 6 Instructions 

Step 1

Open the Studio Organizer 7 with an Admin level password.

If you're networking, do this on the server with no guests connected.

Step 2

Go to the Wizards menu and select Backup Snapshot, then click the Backup button.

Backup Dialog box

Step 3

The software will begin backing up. This may take a moment.

One Moment Please

Step 4

After backing up has been completed, click Quit the Studio Organizer.

You can do this by clicking red Quit button next to Log Off in the bottom left corner of the screen.

Logoff|Quit

Finish Updating

IMPORTANT!

Do not complete the following steps if you have not created a current backup of your data files.

Step 5

Click the Download icon below to download the Studio Organizer update files.

 

Click to Download

Step 6

After the download is complete, unzip/extract the archive.

Open the Update Files folder and select all three files. Right click and select Copy.

Windows users can also click the Copy button on the Home menu.

 

Macintosh users can select Copy from the Edit menu.

 

IMPORTANT!
Do not complete the following steps if you have not created a current backup of your data files.

Step 7

 

Windows Users

Locate and open your Studio Organizer 7 folder.

Open the Data folder.

Right click and select Paste or click the Paste button on the Home menu.

 

 

Macintosh Users

Locate and open your Studio Organizer 7 folder.

Right click and select Paste or select Paste 3 Items from the Edit menu.

 

 

Step 8

When a warning dialog box appears stating these files already exist in this folder, click Replace to confirm you wish to overwrite the existing files.

 

Windows Replace Dialog Box

 

Macintosh Replace Dialog Box

Step 9

Open the Studio Organizer 7 as you normally do. No password is required.

A Finish Updating to Version 7 dialog box will appear. Click Finish.

 

 

The Updating Wizard does all the work and will let you know when your data has been successfully transferred.

All of your data and photos will transfer. Nothing is lost.

After updating is complete you'll be asked to log into the software. Use your regular password.

The new version of the Studio Organizer 7 will open.

 

What's New?

To see what's new, please read the Version History.

Need Help?

If you run into trouble while updating, we'll be happy to help. Please click the Tech Support button and use the Support Wizard to submit your request for help.

Please be sure to include:
The exact number of the Step in the above instructions you're performing
The exact error message or undesired result
Screen snapshots of error messages
Any revenant information about your computer or recent changes

Join Our Mailing List

• Special Offers & Discounts
• No Spam
• Unsubscribe Anytime